Loading Projects

« All Projects

17th Workshop on the Organisation, Economics and Policy of Scientific Research

17th WOEPS @CollegioCA

Start time:

April 18 - April 19



Collegio Carlo Alberto, Turin, Italy



How to attend


In a world where scientific and technological advancements propel social and economic development, comprehending the intricacies of scientific organization becomes indispensable for a better understanding of our society. The 17th edition of the Workshop on the Organisation, Economics, and Policy of Scientific Research (WOEPS), hosted by the Collegio Carlo Alberto and the University of Torino, stands as a unique platform. It seeks to foster a vibrant community for scholars in economics, sociology, management, and related fields who are dedicated to unraveling the intricate processes behind scientific organization.

We aim to attract contributions from both junior and senior scholars on topics related to the organisation, economics and policy of scientific research. A minimum number of slots is allocated for junior researchers (PhD students or postdoc scholars who obtained their PhD in 2020 or later).

Contributions are invited on (but not limited to) one or more of the following topics:

  • Organisation of research activities in universities, PROs and private R&D labs
  • The evaluation of science policy
  • Science in the private sector and spillovers from scientific research
  • Role of individual researcher characteristics in scientific research
  • Science research networks and collaboration
  • Scientific careers and mobility

How to apply

Please submit previously unpublished papers or extended abstracts (min 3 pages) by 14th January 2024 here. We strive to notify authors by 26th February 2024.

Up to 18 contributions will be selected by the scientific committee based on novelty, academic quality and relevance. No review or comments will be offered to the authors to supplement the decision. All presentations will have a discussant. Accepted authors are asked to submit full papers by 1st April 2024.

Please refer to our website for additional information, or feel free to contact us at [email protected] for further clarification.

Participation, travel and accommodation expenses

Participation in the workshop is free for authors of selected papers.

We are offering a limited number of travel and accommodation support grants to junior scholars (PhD students or scholars, who obtained their PhD in 2020 or later) without local funds. To be considered for such grants please state your intention and your eligibility on the first page of your manuscript when submitting it.

Best Junior Scholar Paper

During the Workshop, a Special Mention in honor of Paul A. David will be awarded to the Best Junior Scholar Paper. Eligible papers are works of one or more junior scholars (PhD students or scholars under the age of 40), priority will be given to papers with no co-authorship by senior scholars. Authors wishing to participate in the competition for the Best Young Scholar Paper, please indicate your intention and confirm your eligibility by including this information on the first page of your manuscript when submitting it.

Scientific Committee

Cristiano Antonelli (Università di Torino) ▪ Catherine Beaudry (Polytechnique Montréal) ▪ Nicolas Carayol (Université de Bordeaux, GREThA) ▪ Michele Cincera (Université Libre de Bruxelles) ▪ Aldo Geuna (Università di Torino) ▪ Hanna Hottenrott (TUM) ▪ Stijn Kelchtermans (KU Leuven) ▪ Cornelia Lawson (University of Manchester) ▪ Jacques Mairesse (UNU-MERIT, Maastricht University) ▪ Fabio Montobbio (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore) ▪ Michele Pezzoni (Université Côte d’Azur) ▪ Henry Sauermann (ESMT Berlin) ▪ Sotaro Shibayama (University of Tokyo) ▪ Paula Stephan (Georgia State University; NBER) ▪ Valentina Tartari (Stockholm School of Economics) ▪ Reinhilde Veugelers (KU Leuven) ▪ Fabiana Visentin (UNU-MERIT, Maastricht University) ▪ John Walsh (Georgia Institute of Technology)

Local Organising Committee

Aldo Geuna (Università di Torino) ▪ Daniel Souza (Politecnico di Milano) ▪ Pierre Pelletier (Università di Torino) ▪ Eliana Diodati (Collegio Carlo Alberto, Università di Torino)